Posted by: Phil | July 24, 2016

The Pileated Woodpecker.


An elegant woodpecker that is rarely seen, and yet I was lucky twice as I saw it two days in a row in the small forest of the garden. I heard it before I saw it and I could not believe my eyes. It was a mere feet in front of me, working on a log very low on the ground. I was able to approach it to a mere few feet. Too bad that there was not more sunlight, which explains my high iso at 1250. This picture was taken in mid-April.

Img_5053

Canon T2i, Canon zoom lens 75-300 mm, iso 1250, f/5.6, 1/640 sec.

Responses

  1. Golden backed woodpecker quite common in our area..!! nice images..nice find..!!


Leave a Reply

Categories

