Posted by: Phil | March 15, 2015

Strange insect.


This picture was taken in late August of last year. I  was walking around an area called the Hancock garden when as i was focusing on the ground I saw something moving erratically. I approached slowly and saw that it was a strange insect that I had seen previously but not on the ground. I surmised that probably one of its wings was destroyed. I was unhappy that I did not have my macro lens with me but still took a good shot using my zoom lens.

Canon T2i, Canon zoom lens 75-300 mm, iso 800, f/16, 1/40 sec.

Canon T2i, Canon zoom lens 75-300 mm, iso 800, f/16, 1/40 sec.

Responses

  1. Looks like a cicada. They spend a long time underground before emerging and getting wings for a short period. Great capture.

  2. yes, you are quite right. I just could not remember the name!


Leave a Reply

Categories

