Posted by: Phil | August 31, 2014

Going in for the kill!


Sometimes you are at the right place and the right time. This picture is from late May. I was walking aimlessly in the garden, looking here and there for interesting things to consider taking a picture of when suddenly out of the blue I hear screams. I ran cautiously towards the area that I thought I had heard the screams, holding my tripod in my right hand, and looking more like a late version of a caveman eager to find food. And then I saw this vision; a fox had run down a squirrel and was in the process of killing it. I was not far from and so was able to see what would happen next. The fox held tightly the squirrel in its mouth, and was not moving at all. The squirrel at first tried to squeeze out but in the end just lay very still in the foxes mouth. The fox looked at me several times during this ordeal. After a few minutes when it seemed that the squirrel was dead the fox took the prey and rapidly vanished with it in its mouth.

Canon T2i, Canon zoom lens 75-300 mm, iso 400, f/5.6, 1/125 sec.

Canon T2i, Canon zoom lens 75-300 mm, iso 400, f/5.6, 1/125 sec.

Leave a Reply

Categories

