Posted by: Phil | July 13, 2014

The hairy woodpecker.


This picture was taken in late April. I was trying to find a subject, walking in an area where numerous fallen trees and dead trees abounded when I heard knocking. I had no trouble finding the culprit, a woodpecker. I advanced slowly towards it and because of its red patch at the back of the nape knew it was a male. As it had an unspotted white back and its bill was long, I knew it to be a hairy woodpecker. The downy woodpecker is shorter and as a smaller bill that is more stubby. This fellow let me approach it quite closely, and really gave me the look.

Canon T2i, Canon zoom lens 75-300 mm, iso 800, f/5.6, 1/800 sec.

Canon T2i, Canon zoom lens 75-300 mm, iso 800, f/5.6, 1/800 sec.

Leave a Reply

Categories

