Posted by: Phil | May 4, 2014

A raccoon wandering.


It was a sunny afternoon and I had decided to use a smaller lens as I had wanted to do some macro shooting in the garden. After an hour of trying to find some interesting plants I decided to walk through a small trail in the midst of which was a small forest. I began my walk when suddenly I saw something move on the ground ahead of me. As the trees were bare and the ground was muddy, it was easy to pick up anything that was moving. I approached slowly and there was surprised to see a raccoon in the middle of a small pond. I began taking pictures but as I had only a 28-85 zoom, I knew that I had to get closer to it. As I did, I observed what it was doing. It was dredging the bottom of the pond with its paws and dragging out earthworms and then eating them. A delicacy for raccoons? I had never heard of such a thing.
I was able to get very close to the raccoon but yet, I stayed alert fearful that it might charge me. If it had rabies a bite from it could have been deadly. When the raccoon decided to cross over the small trail to the other pond I naturally gave it a wide berth. It was too bad that the area was darker than I had hoped for.

Canon XTI, Canon zoom lens 28-85 mm, f/9.0, 1/250 sec.

Canon XTI, Canon zoom lens 28-85 mm, f/9.0, 1/250 sec.

Leave a Reply

Categories

