Posted by: Phil | December 2, 2012

Stunning moth.


Front of moth

Canon T21, Sigma macro lens 150mm, iso 1600, f/16, 1/4 sec.

I took these pictures at the end of August. As I was walking in a secluded part of the garden, where a small forest was growing I stumbled on these moths. I had never seen such moths before, and for a week I saw many of them everywhere on trees. Taking these pictures were tricky as I did not want to use artificial lights and so was forced to use a very high iso speed in some pictures. I used iso 1600 and 3200 and was amazed how well they turned out. The progress on these fronts is incredible as I remember quite well that on my old Rebel digital 1so 800 was pretty much useless.

I took a series of picture from the top and then sideways. The details in the head are very good.

Side view of moth.

Canon T2i, Sigma macro lens 150mm, iso 800, f/11, 1/15sec.

Leave a Reply

Categories

