Posted by: Phil | July 1, 2012

An ugly insect!


These insects can be found easily in May and June on certain plants and then, they seem to be much more difficult to find, at least to me. From afar, one cannot see how ugly they are. But using a macro lens as I am using, I was surprised the first time that I examined them up close. They are truly ugly insects. And they are not easy to photograph as they move around readily when disturbed. To top this, they can fly too.  I had to use a fast shutter speed with the aperture at  f/11 in order to get a good shot of it.

I like the color of this insect, and the fact that it is a challenge to get a nice mugshot of it. I think that I nailed it!

Canon T2i, Sigma macro lens 150mm, iso 800, f/11, 1/80sec.

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

