Posted by: Phil | December 18, 2011

Thanks for keeping still!


I took this picture in early October. When the weather turns cold this insect can still  be found on some plants. Very small, less than 3/4 of an inch in length, and of a reddish hue, it is hard to see on various plants. When out in the open it tends to scamper inside a flower or a plant. A challenge to take a picture of, whether with a tripod or free hand. In this case, I waited for the insect to stop for a few seconds and then took several pictures of it, staring at me.

Canon XTI, Sigma macro lens 150mm, iso800, f/6.3, 1/800sec.

 

Responses

  1. Great image!!! How do you like the Sigma 150 macro?

    • Thanks for your kind words. I love the Sigma 150mm, but sometimes I am stymied by the fact that some insects and spiders are so small that I would love to have something even better than 150. I could add another lens in front but 180 is about the maximum that I could go. Thanks again!

      • I have the canon 100mm 2.8 and I love it but yes the 180 3.5L would be fantastic!!!

      • But even with 180mm some insects are still too small take take pictures of. I would love to see something even better than that!


Leave a Reply

Categories

