Posted by: Phil | November 27, 2011

What a tongue lashing!


These pictures were taken in early September. I was walking in an area called the Leslie Hancock gardens, a remote area in the main botanical garden. I like this area as it is far away from where the tourists like to roam. It is very peaceful and quiet and full of insects. I mostly see dragonflies and some spiders but on that day, I saw a species of fly that simply amazed me. I was stooping down to see if any spiders were lurking in the small shrubs when lo and behold, I saw this strange fly on a leaf. It was small but what attracted me to it was its green tint. It was very shiny, amazingly metallic looking to me.

I was hand holding the camera and took several pictures of which I included two, two illustrate this amazing tongue. Truly a strange fly.

Canon XTI, Sigma macro lens 150mm, iso800, f/5.6, 1/800sec.

Canon XTI, Sigma macro lens 150mm, iso800, f/5.6, 1/800sec.

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

