Posted by: Phil | November 20, 2011

Two butterflies…different yet similiar!


I took these two pictures a week apart, and even if they look very similar, these butterflies seem to be quite different. In the first picture, I was using a tripod. The early morning was favourable for taking pictures of butterflies as the winds were absent. This butterfly seemed to be asleep and so I was able to get quite close to it and shoot several pictures. I love the details around the eyes.

In the second picture I was hand holding the camera and so used a higher speed to get it right. In this second picture the butterfly seemed different yet the eyes and the mouth parts seemed the same. Perhaps a male and a female.  Both pictures taken during the second week of September.

Canon XTI, Sigma macro lens 150mm, iso100, f/5.6, 1/800

 

Canon XTI, Sigma macro lens 150mm, iso800, f/9.0, 1/1600

 

 

 

Responses

  1. Funky colouring on the second one, I wonder if it’s natural or if it’s from a flower or something.

    • I understand what you mean. The sun was shining on the butterfly and that made the difference. I did nothing much in post processing as I like my pictures to be as natural as possible. That is why i included both pictures, as the second one was so different from the first and yet there are similarities. Thanks for your comment.


Leave a Reply

Categories

