Posted by: Phil | September 11, 2011

Moth or butterfly?


I have to admit that I have always been unsure about this moth, or is it a butterfly? The picture was taken in mid-July, in an area in the garden that butterflies and  moths seem to like a lot. It is not easy to take pictures of insects that fly, especially in an unpredictable manner. I took several shots of this moth, and as I had my tripod with me I was able to use a lower iso speed to get the best picture possible. I do believe that it is a moth simply because the front part does not look like a butterfly and it seems to fly in a different way that the butterflies do. What do you think?

Canon XTI, Sigma lens 150mm macro, iso100, f/4.0, 1/400sec.

 

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

