Posted by: Phil | April 26, 2011

First bee!


It was still cold last weekend but I knew that the botanical garden had awakened from its winter slumber. When I arrived I could hear birds sing, notably the robin. It was not that warm so I knew not to expect too much in the way of insects, but when the sun shines one never knows.

I was walking around the area, trying to locate some flowers when suddenly I spotted bees. But they were of a kind that I could not recall; they were brown in nature, a different coat than they usually sport. Trying to take pictures of flying bees can be difficult, but as the temperature was not high, the bees were not flying much, moving here  and there. I therefore positioned myself near some budding flowers and waiting for one to move closer to me.

Canon XTI, Sigma lens 150mm macro, iso800, f/7.1, 1/1000sec.

Leave a Reply

Categories

