Posted by: Phil | April 10, 2011

Woody is here!


At this time of the year the botanical garden is still in a slumber mode; snow was still present in some areas when I visited it this weekend. The weather is getting warmer but finding suitable subjects for what I like, macro photography, is still a challenge. As I was walking over the garden I could hear tapping on trees. Woodpeckers are always present but not always easy to see, especially when the trees have leaves. But right now, with the absence of leaves, one can easily spot woodpeckers and other small birds quite easily. Now my lens that I carry is ill-suited for bird photography as it is a 150 fixed lens made for macro photography. Nevertheless in a pinch, it can still take some great bird pictures.

The woodpecker in the picture is called the downy woodpecker and it is a male, due to the red patch at the back of the head. It is a small bird, like a sparrow and is rather tame. I was able to approach it quite easily as it was  too preoccupied in tapping trees to find its food to notice me.

Canon XTI, 150mm Sigma macro, iso800, f/7.1, 1/1000

Leave a Reply

Categories

