Posted by: Phil | January 9, 2011

Air bubbles under ice.


Taking pictures in Winter is not exactly my favourite activity. I simply do not enjoy the cold. And of course, there are no insects to be found in Winter. Now and then, I will carry my small camera, a Sony W1 with only 5.1 megapixels, and take pictures of ice features. I love to find intricate swirls and twirls under the ice, and especially air bubbles.

This picture that I took was on a frigid mid-afternoon during the first weekend of the year. There had been a small thaw a few days before and so air was trapped under new layers of ice.

Sony W1, 5.1 megapixels.

Responses

  1. Wow a lovely abstract chot. Just what I’ve written about today. I didn’t think to include ice bubbles, though.

    • Thanks Chris for the comment.

  2. It is very pretty.

    • Thanks!


Leave a Reply

Categories

