Posted by: Phil | October 4, 2010

The sun, the cormorant and me!


It was an early Sunday morning, and few people were walking in the garden. I was one of the few photographers that was prowling around the area. The sun was shining and the winds were calm. I was walking around my favourite areas when I decided to visit a small lake where an Indian village was, complete with a teepee. As I was walking towards the lake I spied at the other end a bird sunning itself, spreading its wings and then just looking around. It was a big bird and I thought it was probably a blue heron, but as I got closer I discovered that it was a cormorant.

Canon XTI, Sigma 150mm macro, ISO100, F/4.5, 1/400sec.

Cormorants are often found in the garden, catching fish in the two main lakes. In this case, this one was not alone as a young one was close by.

I first took pictures from afar, afraid that the bird would fly off. As a tree was in front of the bird, I elected to get closer by using the tree to hide myself. In the end, I was close enough that even with my 150mm I was able to take some nice pictures of this bird. Not a beautiful bird but still interesting to look at.

Responses

  1. Glad he’s not covered with oil.

    • Well in Montreal, the odds of that happenning are slim! Thanks for your comment.


Leave a Reply

Categories

