Posted by: Phil | June 1, 2010

Caterpillar invasion!


As I was walking around the botanical garden this week, I began to notice that caterpillars were plentiful. The fact is, everywhere that I was looking I could find them happily munching on leaves or simply not moving at all for fear of being seen and probably eaten by birds. This fellow  was moving around, no doubt trying to secure a safe place.

It always amazes me the various colors that one can find on these insects. In this case, the head part is very much blue. I saw others that were black and white. I must admit that they are not my favourite insects to photograph. They move around too much, and the eating parts are hidden most of the time. But this one was simply at the right angle for me and was too colorful to pass up.

Leave a Reply

Categories

